Hop-Scotch

Oh god, I forgot how to do this . . . again. Wait no I didn’t, hey it’s me . . . CJ. . . .the beer guy . . . oh here’s my post.

Iron Duke

Recently I decided to take a little trip out into the wide world of southern Massachusetts, specifically Ludlow. What’s out there well I’m sure something but what I went there was for Iron Duke Brewing. Back story on how I found it: I just googled breweries into google maps and scrolled around till I found some new places. Trust me this is the best way to find all the new ones.

Back to the brewery. Fair warning this place is located in an industrial park in the back, but once you find this jewel in the rough it’s worth it. Not to mention they have this great food truck parked outside, I suggest getting some fries and a loaded hot dog. Really helps put you in the mood for a brew.

I got myself a nice little flight of some quality brews, like I’d do anything else. Starting with a nice Baby-Maker, Irish Porter, it’s an easy porter that I could drink without stop during a crisp day.  If you want something with more hops try a Stockhouse 122, an easy pale ale that went great with the fries.

Moving right along to the other half of my flight was their The Common, a Kentucky Common Ale. What’s that? you ask. You don’t know? Then look it up, you have the internet. If you want me to tell you then read this: “Brewed with a combination of Malted Barley, Malted Rye, and Flaked Maize this beer makes for a refreshing and light taste experience”. In easier terms, its similar to a pale ale in that it’s not heavy. Though it doesn’t hold a candle to the Iron Smith’s, a spring stout, this was the first time they tried it too. An easy stout on that doesn’t sit in your stomach for days. It’s a great introduction for people who aren’t into heavy beers.

I suggest everyone go to this place even if it’s a bit hard to get to, heck they’ve only been around since Thanksgiving 2014 and if we don’t support local breweries, who will?!

Till the next round, Drink Up!

CJ